profile picture with golden sunset feat

One of the most underrated features of Chrome is its ability to add multiple profiles within a single browser instance. For example, you could create one profile for work, another for personal usage, and so on. Along the same lines, if you are using a shared work PC, then all of your colleague’s profiles could be added as a separate entity. These profiles will be distinguishable via the profile picture that Chrome would pick up from the associated Google account. Likewise, you could also assign distinct names to each profile and provide them with separate color themes. But these profiles wouldn’t have any interconnection between them. Each would be different for different profiles, saved passwords, bookmarks, favorites, or site settings. So with such a plethora of benefits attached, why would one want to disable it? Well, it’s because of how Google tends to offer this feature to the end-users. Multiple Google Chrome Profiles As soon as you launch the browser, you will be greeted with a large profile selection screen. The worst part is that this happens every time you launch the browser, completely disrupting the user experience. Moreover, it’s not that users would always tend to switch over to a different profile whenever they launch Chrome. And even if the need for the same arises, they could easily use the profile switcher icon situated to the right of the address bar. So join all these dots, and there doesn’t prove to be a concrete reason to keep this functionality enabled. [related]Related: Multiple Google Login for Chrome to Become Productive Champ![/related] If you also echo these thoughts, then you have come to the right place. Given hereby are the detailed instruction steps to disable the Profiles feature in the Chrome browser.

Disable Profiles Feature in Chrome

There are two different approaches through which you could carry out this task. The first one is a rather straightforward approach and requires minimal effort to stop displaying the profile selection at startup. On the other hand, the second method calls for the removal of all the secondary Google accounts. We have listed both these methods below; you may refer to the one that meets your requirements. [note]Note: It’s not possible to remove the profiles feature completely since it’s Google Chrome’s core functionality.[/note]

Disabling the Show at Startup Option

Disabling the Show at Startup is the quickest and shortest method to disable Chrome’s Profile feature and requires a single click. Once you disable the checkbox, it won’t show the Profile selection window after launching the browser. Here are the steps to disable chrome profile to show at startup:

  1. Launch the Chrome browser on your PC. The profile selection window shall appear immediately.
  2. Uncheck the Show at Startup option present at the bottom right. Show on Startup option in Chrome

If this is your first time using Chrome, select the desired profile, and the browser will remember your selection from now on. However, if you have already signed in to the browser before, you could close this dialog box. Chrome will now no longer bring the profile selector screen the next time you launch the browser. Rather, you will be automatically logged in with the profile you used in your previous browsing session.

Delete Profile Accounts

Removing the Profile account is an extreme measure involving removing all the other Chrome accounts and only keeping your primary account available. Doing so will delete all the data associated with those accounts, which would then nullify Chrome’s profiles switcher in itself (as there would be no other account to switch to). Here are the steps to remove multiple profiles from the Chrome browser:

  1. Launch the Chrome browser on your PC. The profile selection window shall appear immediately.
  2. Click on More vertical 3dots icon on the profile to be removed.
  3. Select the Delete command from the options menu. Chrome Profile Delete Command option
  4. Hit on [cmdbtn]Delete[/cmdbtn] button in the confirmation dialog box. Delete Command to Remove Chrome Profiles

Continue to delete the profiles except for your primary one. Once you have only a profile, the chrome profiles feature at startup will be disabled. As you would have noticed, while this method does its job, it does come at a hefty cost. Therefore the first method proves to be a better approach, at least for this task.

Bottom Line: Disable Profiles in Chrome

So this was all from this guide on how you could disable the profiles feature in the Chrome browser. The ability to add a new profile and switch between multiple ones in Chrome has been there for quite a long time. However, the browser’s decision to suddenly add a new large pop-up screen at every bootup seems to have irked a few users, and rightly so. Anyways, with the help of the aforementioned steps, you could now bid adieu to this menu that tends to disrupt the browser’s UI/UX. [related]Related: How to Sign-in Google Chrome and Manage Sync Data?[/related] In this regard, we have shared two different methods that shall come in handy. If you have any queries concerning any of these two approaches, do let us know in the comments section below.